Use the Backup and Restore option to easily back up all PlayStation®4 console data, including saved data and user profile data.
Do not turn off your PS4™ console while backing up data. Doing this may cause data loss or corruption, or damage to your PS4 console or USB drive.
To back up data you need an FAT32 or exFAT-formatted USB drive with at least double the storage space of the PS4 backup file. If you don't have enough space to back up everything on your device, you can choose not to back up application data.
Please note, users who have never signed in to PlayStation™Network (PSN) can restore saved data to only the original PS4 console that was backed up. To restore saved data to another PS4 console, you must sign in to PSN before backing up data.
When restoring data, your PS4 console erases all data saved on your console. This can't be undone, even if you cancel the restore operation. Make sure you don't erase any important data by mistake.
Backing up your data regularly is a great way to ensure that important data is saved. You can back up the following types of data saved to a USB drive.
All user data saved on your PS4 console (excluding trophies) is included in the backup data. When you restore your backup data, your PS4 console is reset, and all data saved on your console is erased.
If you want to return data without restoring your console, use USB extended storage or cloud storage.
Contact our support specialists
Enter your date of birth.