Manage PS4 saved game data in system storage

Learn how create HDD space by removing and uploading game save data.

 
 

To manage up your PS4 Save Data, go to [Settings] > [Application Saved Data Management] > [Saved Data in System Storage]. From there, you will find 3 options:

Upload to Online Storage

You can manually upload saved game data from a PS4 system to the Online Storage for your PlayStation Network account. Uploaded saved game data can be downloaded later to continue playing games without starting over. To use this feature, you must subscribe to PlayStation Plus.

Here's how it works:

  1. Go to [Settings] > [Application Saved Data Management] > [Saved Data on System Storage] and select [Upload to Online Storage].
  1. Select a game or application.
  1. Place a tick next to each saved data that you wish to upload, or choose to [Select All] and select [Upload].
  1. "Do you want to overwrite this saved data" will display if the file you're uploading was previously uploaded to Online Storage. If this happens, look at the date and time shown for the System Storage and Online Storage versions of the file to help you determine which file was saved more recently. Select [Yes] to replace the version in Online Storage. Select [No] to cancel the upload.

More info

  • You can also set your PS4 system to Auto-Upload PS4 Saved Game Data to your Online Storage.
  • The maximum storage capacity that can be used with online storage is 10 GB.
  • You can check the progress of uploads under [Notifications] > [Uploads].

Copy to USB Storage Device

You can copy saved data to a USB storage device that is connected to the PS4 system. Saved data that you copy can be used as a backup, and you can copy saved data from the USB storage device to another PS4 and continue playing a game. Note that you must be signed in to the PlayStation Network to use this feature. 

  1. Connect a USB storage device to the PS4 system.
  2. Go to [Settings] > [Application Saved Data Management] > [Copy to USB Storage Device].
  1. Select a game.
  1. Place ticks next to the data you wish to copy or [Select All] and select [Copy].
  1. "Do you want to overwrite this saved data" will display if the file you're copying already exists on the USB storage device. If this happens, look at the date and time shown for the System Storage and USB Storage versions of the file to help you determine which file was saved more recently. Select [Yes] to replace the version in USB storage. Select No] to cancel the copy.

Delete Saved Game Data

This lets you delete saved game data from your PlayStation 4.

  1. Go to [Settings] > [Application Saved Data Management] > [Delete].
  1. Select a game.
  1. Place ticks next to the data you wish to delete or [Select All].
  1. Select [Delete] and then select [OK] to confirm your decision.