Guitar Hero III: Legends Of Rock

  • PS3

Become a rock god with Guitar Hero III: Legends Of Rock on PlayStation®3.

  • Release Date: Out Now
  • Genre: Music and Rhythm
  • Publisher: RedOctane
  • Developer: Neversoft Entertainment
    Guitar Hero 3

    Fire up the fretboard, crank up the amp and get ready to rock like never before as Guitar Hero III drops you into the spotlight of the largest and most legendary rock concert ever.

    The star-studded soundtrack includes master tracks by such legendary artists as The Rolling Stones, Beastie Boys, Muse and Pearl Jam, with added songs made famous by Kiss, Alice Cooper and Heart. Now drop that air guitar, tune your exclusive new wireless Les Paul Guitar Controller and shred the night away with Guitar Hero III.

    Featuring an incredible number of newly added features and explosive content including a new multiplayer action-inspired battle mode, gruelling boss battles, a host of exclusive unlockable content and authentic rock venues, Guitar Hero III also includes expanded online multiplayer game modes that allow axe-shredders worldwide to compete head-to-head for true legendary rock status.

    • Over 45 of the most legendary rock anthems of all time
    • Challenge legends of rock and roll like Slash, Tom Morello and Bret Michaels in boss battles
    • Expand upon your Guitar Hero experience with downloadable songs, themes and picture packs
    Guitar Hero 3 Screenshot 6

    A legend in the making

    Get ready to rock again as Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock is on its way to PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3.

    The Gibson Guitar Studios in London were recently the venue for a sneak preview of Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock, due to come to PS2 and PS3 in the autumn, and early impressions are that it's shaping up to be the most rocking experience you can have without growing your hair out, dressing in leather and becoming a roadie for Metallica.

    The first thing you notice is the new guitar controller. Shaped like Gibson's most famous guitar, the venerable Les Paul, the guitars are completely wireless, letting you indulge in all the scissor-kicking, sofa-jumping rock theatrics you want without the fear of bringing your PS3 crashing to the ground. They also come complete with interchangeable faceplates, meaning you can customise the look of your guitar to your heart's content, and detachable necks, making them much more easy to transport.

    Making tracks

    The early version of the game on display included an already impressive selection of tracks to play, including Sabotage by the Beastie Boys, My Name Is Jonas by Weezer, Welcome To The Jungle by Guns 'n' Roses and Knights Of Cydonia by Muse. The finished version is intended to have over 70 tracks, with over half of them being the master recordings by the original artists.

    New additions to the gameplay include a brand-new Battle mode, which puts a new twist on the head-to-head Pro Face-off mode introduced in Guitar Hero II. Now you and your challenger face off over a track but with the addition of attacking power-ups that let you break one of your opponent's strings, overload the amp, increase the difficulty or even flip the controls around to be left-handed. You can store three of these attacks at a time, and they are activated by tilting the guitar upwards, just like using Star Power.

    Rock 'til you drop

    The Battle mode also ties into one of the other new gameplay features, boss battles. There are three throughout the game, culminating in a battle against Slash, erstwhile Guns 'n' Roses guitarist and now chief axeman for Velvet Revolver. These battles are the same as two-player battle modes and let you unlock new characters as well as new songs as a reward for your riff mastery. The game has also been given a graphical overhaul, with beautiful new venues and animations and there are a range of new characters jostling with returning favourites like Johnny Napalm, Judy Nails and Axel Steel.

    From what has been unveiled so far, Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock looks set to be absolutely amazing, retaining all the best features of the previous games while adding new features, upgrading the guitars and polishing the presentation to next generation levels. Keep your amps turned to 11 and your eyes glued to for more news and a full preview as soon as it arrives.
    • Players

      1-4 Players

    • Network Features

      Network Features

    • Has Downloadable Content

      Has Downloadable Content

    • Network Players

      2-4 Network Players

    • Network Play

      Network Play


    See it in action

    Videos and images