Block or unblock players on PSN

How to block or unblock players on PSN

Learn how to use your PlayStation® console to block or unblock players on PlayStation™Network (PSN).

What happens if I block a player?

When you block a player, you won't receive friend requests, messages, or invitations to games from each other.

Blocked players also can't do the following:

  • View your profile, posts, or personal information. 
  • Add you to parties. If a blocked player is added to your party by another player, the blocked player won't be able to talk to you.
  • Watch your broadcasts or your game screen during Share Screen.

Block a player on PSN

Select your console below for steps to block a player on PSN.
  1. Press the PS button to go to the control centre > select Game Base
  2. Select a friend from the list or select a party, and then select the player from the members list. 
  3. On the players profile, select More > Block.
  1. Select your local user account, press up on the control pad to access the Function menu and go to Friends
  2. Either search for the online ID or select the player from your Friends list. 
  3. Select ...  (more options)  > Block to add the user to your "Players Blocked" list.

Unblock a player on PSN

Select your console below for steps to unblock a player on PSN.
  1. Press the PS button to go to the control centre > select Game Base > Settings
  2. Select Blocked Players to see a list of players you have blocked. 
  3. Select Unblock next to the blocked player.
  1. Go to Friends > press the OPTIONS button > Players Blocked
  2. Select the player that you want to unblock > press the OPTIONS button > Unblock
  3. Send a new friend request if you want to add this player to your Friends list.

Related PlayStation Safety articles

Some of the common questions you may have about safety on PlayStation are covered below.

Need help? 

Contact our support specialists