Use the Backup and Restore option to easily back up all PlayStation®4 console data, including saved data and user profile data.
Backing up your data regularly is a great way to ensure that important data is saved. You can back up the following types of data saved to a USB drive.
All user data saved on your PS4 console is included in the backup data. When you restore your backup data, your PS4 console is reset, and all data saved on your console is erased.
If you want to return data without restoring your console, use USB extended storage or cloud storage.
To back up data you need an FAT32 or exFAT-formatted USB drive with at least double the storage space of the PS4 backup file. If you don't have enough space to back up everything on your device, you can choose not to back up application data.
It's important to sync your Trophies first because they are not included in the backup data. Go to Trophies, press the OPTIONS button and select the Sync Trophies With PSN.
Insert the USB drive into your PS4 console.
Go to Settings > System > Back Up and Restore.
Select Back Up.
Confirm which data you'd like to back up. It is important to back up saved data to avoid losing any game progress.
Customise the backup file name and select Back Up.
Remove the USB drive.
When restoring data, your PS4 console will erase all data saved on your console. This can't be undone, even if you cancel the restore operation. Make sure you don't erase any important data by mistake. Erased data can't be restored.
Contact our support specialists