Block or unblock players on PSN

How to block or unblock players on PSN

Learn how to use your PlayStation® console to block or unblock players on PlayStation™Network (PSN).

What happens if I block a player?

Blocked players and you (the blocker) can't do the following:

  • View each other's profile, activity, or personal information.
  • Add each other to parties or watch each other’s screen during Share Screen.
  • If a blocked player is added to your group by another player, you won't see each other's messages. 
  • If you're in the same party chat, you won't hear each other's voice or watch each other's screen during Share Screen.

How to block a player on PSN

Select your console below for steps to block a player on PSN.
  1. Press the PS button to go to the control center and then select Game Base
  2. From the Friends tab, select a friend from the list.
    You can also select players from the Parties tab by selecting the party and then the player from the members list. 
  3. On the player's profile select ...(More) > Block.
  1. Select Friends from the function screen. 
  2. Search for the player's online ID or select the player from your All Friends list.
  3. Select ...(More) > Block. This blocks the player and adds them to your Players Blocked list.

How to unblock a player on PSN

Select your console below for steps to unblock a player on PSN.
  1. Press the PS button to go to the control center and select Game Base.
  2. Press the options button, and then select Go to Game Base
  3. Select Game Base settings, and then select Blocked Players
  4. Select Unblock next to the blocked player.
  1. Select Friends from the function screen. 
  2. Press the OPTIONS button > Players Blocked
  3. Select the player that you want to unblock > Unblock

If you want to add this player to your Friends list, send a new friend request.

Related PlayStation Safety articles

Some of the common questions you may have about safety on PlayStation are covered below.

Need help? 

Contact our support specialists