Backing up your data regularly is a great way to ensure that important data is saved. You can back up data saved on your console storage to a USB storage drive.
Don't turn off your PS5 console while backing up or restoring data. Doing this may cause data loss or corruption, or damage to your PS5 console or USB drive.
When restoring data, your PS5 console will erase all data saved on your console. This can't be undone, even if you cancel the restore operation. Make sure you don't erase any important data by mistake. Erased data cannot be restored.
Trophies aren't included in the backup data. Update your game status before backing up your data:
Go to Trophies, press the Options button, and select Sync with PlayStation™Network.
Users who have never signed in can restore saved data to only the original PS5 console that was backed up. To restore saved data on another console, you must sign in on that console.
You can back up the following data:
All user data saved on your PS5 console (excluding trophies) is included in the backup data. When you restore your backup data, your PS5 console will be reset, and all data saved on your console will be erased.
If you want to store your data and then return it without restoring your console, store the data in a different space:
When you restore a PS5 from a backup, the current system software version must be the same version or newer than the version on the PS5 console when the backup was made.
When you restore your PS5 console, Console Sharing and Offline Play will be turned off. Configure the setting again to avoid losing access to your subscriptions and content.
Contact our support specialists