New to Destiny 2? Start here.

Get up to speed quickly with our introduction to Destiny 2's core systems, classes and game modes.

Guardian classes

Guard and defend the Last City of humanity as a member of one of three classes.

Destiny 2 FAQ

The Vanguard is a faction that consists of high-ranking Guardians who are considered the best of their respective classes, including legendary Destiny characters Commander Zavala and Ikora Rey.

Strikes are matchmade activities with three-person fireteams that culminate in a challenging final boss encounter and the reward of high-quality loot. In a strike you’ll fight your way through a set path on one of the available destinations, encountering enemies as you progress. Strikes can be completed in about fifteen minutes depending on the mission and skills of the fireteam.

The Vanguard Ops playlist is a set of strikes and Battlegrounds that is a great starting point for players to get into the action with a variety of enemies and areas.

Think of raids as more challenging and elaborate adventures, featuring teams of six players. They usually take longer to complete, but there are checkpoints where your progress is saved so you can come back and finish them later.

In a raid, there will be specific steps you need to complete to progress, and you’ll need to figure out what to do and where to go as there are no objective markers. Boss battles are extremely challenging, but worth it for the experience and chance of unique items that are often only available in raids.

Dungeons are shorter raid type activities that are built for teams of three players, featuring more puzzle-based elements that need to be completed while engaging with enemies.

New players can find raids and dungeons challenging, with strong enemies, routes to discover and puzzles to figure out.

Strikes have several difficulty levels available with the lowest difficulty being a great entry point for new players and Grandmaster versions serving as the ultimate challenge to aspire to.

While a well-coordinated fireteam of veteran players can make things easier, discovering how to complete any of these activities with a fireteam of beginners can be a highly rewarding experience.

Download Destiny 2 and buy Silver and expansions on PlayStation Store

Each Destiny 2 Season Pass costs 1,200 Silver, or purchase Lightfall + Annual Pass bundle for access to Seasons 20, 21, 22 and 23. 

Destiny 2
Lightfall Standard edition
Lightfall + annual pass

Destiny 2

Explore the incredible sci-fi fantasy universe of Destiny 2, now free to play on PS5 and PS4. Join millions of players, create your Guardian and start collecting unique weapons and armour to customise your look and playstyle.

Destiny 2 Lightfall - Standard Edition


  • Lightfall campaign
  • New Strand ability
  • New Neptune location

Destiny 2 Lightfall + Annual Pass


  • Destiny 2 Lightfall Standard Edition
  • New raid
  • Two dungeons released in Season 21 and 23
  • A new Exotic Sparrow
  • Quicksilver Storm catalyst and ornament
  • Season Passes for Season 20, 21, 22, 23.