Updated 24 February 2017

Automatic sign-in settings on PlayStation 3

This article explains the differences between all the PlayStation 3 auto sign-in options, why you might need to manage these settings and how to do so.

 
 

What are the benefits of auto sign-in?

You can get started with system or PlayStation Network features quickly and take advantage of remote download if auto sign in is set up.

However, this means that your account may be easily accessed by others who can use your PlayStation system. Therefore, there are certain situations where you should not have auto sign-in enabled.

What sign-in options are available on PlayStation 3?

There are two accounts that you can sign in to on your PlayStation 3; the local user account, which is the user on the PlayStation system itself and the PlayStation Network account, which can be linked to local user accounts on different activated systems for playing online, making purchases from PlayStation Store etc.

  1. Local user account

Local user accounts do not have any password or PIN settings. If there is only one local user or, if [Automatic Login] is enabled on one of the local user accounts, the PlayStation 3 will automatically log in to this user when it is switched on.

To switch off auto log-in go to [PlayStation Network] with your [Local user] and press (Triangle button). Select ‘Automatic Login’ and press (X button).  

However, this does not stop others from manually choosing to log into the PlayStation 3 on your local user account.

  1. PlayStation Network

The PlayStation Network account assigned to the local user account cannot be changed after it has been chosen. Your local user account does not stay signed in to PlayStation Network but you can set up automatic sign in on your local user. You can also save your password to sign in quickly if you do not want the PlayStation 3 to sign in to your account automatically.

If these settings are switched on, it means that because any user can access to your local user account, they can also access your PlayStation Network account information and any content purchased by any other local user on the PlayStation 3.

Sign out of PlayStation Network at the end of every PlayStation 3 session and make sure [Auto Sign-In] is switched off to stop others accessing your account by going to [PlayStation Network] > [Account Management] and pressing (triangle button).

 

If you have saved your password other users can access your PlayStation Network account, even if you have signed out and switched off [Auto Sign-In]. Make sure your password has not been saved by doing the following:

Go to [PlayStation Network] > [Sign In] and if the check box next to [Save Password] is ticked, highlight it and press (X button) to untick.

When should I make sure that my local user is not set up to auto log-in?

  • If you are logging in to PlayStation Network on a friend’s PlayStation system
  • If other people use your PlayStation system

When should I sign out of PlayStation Network?

You should sign out at the end of every session on your PlayStation 3, but be extra careful if any of the following apply:

  • You are giving your PlayStation system to another person
  • You are sending it to SIEE for service
  • You need to return it to the retailer

If you do not have access to your PlayStation system to sign out of PlayStation Network, you can you can change your password from a web browser. This means that if another person has possession of your PlayStation system they cannot access your account through it, even if auto sign-in or saved password is switched on.