Updated 20 July 2017

PS4: Sharing PlayStation Plus features with a friend

PlayStation Plus benefits your friend can use when you sign in on their PS4 or they sign in on yours.

 
 

While you are a PlayStation Plus subscriber, you can share selected benefits on PS4 systems activated on your PSN account. What’s shared depends on whether you are using your account on your PS4 or a friend’s PS4 system.

Your PS4

PlayStation Plus features you can use

PlayStation Plus features your friend can use*

PlayStation Plus features your friend can’t use

  • All PlayStation Plus features
  • Online multiplayer (subject to system parental control settings)
  • Play downloaded games purchased with PlayStation Plus discount
  • Play downloaded Monthly Plus games
  • Purchasing PlayStation Plus discounted products from PlayStation Store
  • Online game save storage
  • Auto patch download
  • PlayStation Plus exclusive early access to game trials

* You don’t need to be signed into your local user for other users to use these features.

Your friend’s PS4 - you’ve temporarily activated it on your PSN account

PlayStation Plus features you can use

PlayStation Plus features your friend can use*

PlayStation Plus features your friend can’t use

  • All PlayStation Plus features
  • Play downloaded games purchased with PlayStation Plus discount
  • Play downloaded Monthly Plus games
  • Online multiplayer
  • Purchasing PlayStation Plus discounted products from PlayStation Store
  • Online game save storage
  • Auto patch download
  • PlayStation Plus exclusive early access to game trials

* You need to be signed into PSN on this system for your friend to use these features.

When you’ve finished playing on your friend's PS4

  1. Manually upload your game saves

Select your local user and go to   [Settings] > [Application Data Management] > [Saved Data in System] > [Upload to Online Storage].

You need to manually upload your games saves to Online Storage because this doesn’t happen automatically when you’re playing on a friend’s PS4.

  1. Delete your local user

Go to [Settings] > [Users] > [Delete User] to delete the local user you created on your friend’s PS4.

If you signed into their system as a Guest User, just sign out of PSN (there's no local user to delete). Go to [Settings] > [PlayStation Netowrk/Account Management] > [Sign Out].

This is to make sure your friend can’t access your SEN account after you’ve finished playing.

  1. Delete content you downloaded through your PSN account

Highlight the games downloaded on your account on the content launcher and press [Options] > [Delete].

This is because your friend can’t play anything downloaded throughyour PSN account after you sign out and may want to delete it from their PS4 HDD.