Updated 20 April 2016

How to use your PlayStation 4 to block or unblock a PlayStation Network player

Find how to use your PlayStation 4 to block and unblock PlayStation Network players.

 
 

When should I block a user?

If you want to stop another PlayStation Network user from sending you messages you can place them on your block list. This means that although they may send you a message you will not receive it. You can also unblock users at any time. This means that you will begin receiving messages from them again.

Master accounts and sub account are both able to block users.

How do I block a user?

  1. Select your local user account, press up on the control pad to access the Function menu and go to [Friends].
  2. Either search for the Online ID or select the user from your friends list that you want to block and press (X button).
  3. Select [Options] > [Block] to add the user to your 'Players Blocked' list.
  4. You will not receive any text messages from this user unless you remove them from your  'Players Blocked' list.

How do I unblock a user?

You can also unblock users at any time. This means that you will begin receiving messages from them again.

  1. Go to [Friends] > [Players Blocked].
  2. Select the player that you want to unblock, select unblock and press (X button).
  3. Send a new Friend Request if you want to add this player to your Friend List again.