Updated October 13, 2015

How to use your PlayStation 3 to block or unblock a PlayStation Network player

Find how to block and unblock players using PlayStation 3.

 
 

When should I block a user?

If you want to stop another PlayStation Network user from sending you messages you can place them on your block list. This means that although they may send you a message you will not receive it. You can also unblock users at any time. This means that you will begin receiving messages from them again.

Master accounts and sub account are both able to block users.

How do I block a user?

  1. On the XMB Menu go to [PlayStation Network] > [Sign-in] > [Friends List] and select the Online ID of the person you want to block.
  2. Press (Triangle button) to open the options menu to the right of the screen, select 'Delete' and press (X button) to remove the user from your Friends List.
  3. To stop this user contacting you in future go to [Friends List] > [Message Box] > [Received] and press (X button).
  4. Select a message received from the user you want to block and press (X button).
  5. You will not receive any text messages from this user unless you remove them from your blocked list.

How do I unblock a user?

You can also unblock users at any time. This means that you will begin receiving messages from them again.

  1. Go to [Friends List] > [Block List] and press (X button).
  2. Select the player that you want to unblock and press (triangle button).
  3. Select [Delete from Block List] and press (X button).
  4. Send a new Friend Request if you want to add this player to your Friend List again.
 
 
 
 

More on this topic

Related Articles